Gisteren fotograferen. Morgen exposeren. Hoe oud nieuw kan worden.

First video – Frietjes!

When I woke up yesterday morning, I checked the mails on my iPhone and found this question “Do they also eat French Fries?”

French Fries are invented in Belgium (Americans thought they were in France when they discovered, but where situated in the French-speaking part of Belgium). It’s a big part of our own culture, so I was eager to shoot the answer! I jumped out of my bed with my head full of ideas!

I walked in the streets, took videos of all kind of food (I do receive many questions about the typical food), and made new friends by shooting their mushrooms and daily dishes!

Of course, I don’t go to the main centre of Mexico City. I have my own town where I can find anything, and people know me by now. It felt great to be back in San Bernabe! The people are so kind. They even cheered for the girl of the intro “Yes, we also have French Fries here in Mexico!”.

So I ended up eating French Fries with peel, digging them out of the pool of ketchup, liquid cheese and spicy salsa… And I had a rough time finishing half a liter of pineapple juice ’cause I wanted to hang out in the restaurant. But well, it’s hardly a sacrifice!

Check out the video


2 responses

  1. The term French Fries comes from old English. The verb “to french” would nowadays not be used anymore and be replaced by “to slice”.
    Originally the potatoes were sliced once, and later in Belgium twice (to get the current square shape). In old texts, you can find references to frenched fries which was short for frenched fried potatoes.
    That makes the 2002 reaction of the Americans (we really should start saying US citizens, as the rest of the continent also consists of Americans) of not calling them french fries anymore, even more hilarious. Little do they know…

    August 4, 2010 at 10:58 am

    • Evy

      Thanks for the input. The explanation I gave was the official one from the Belgian government. Until 5-6 years ago, http://www.belgium.be gave explanation about Belgium culture from food until Tin Tin. They removed the background information since they updated their website…

      August 4, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Leave a Reply

