Gisteren fotograferen. Morgen exposeren. Hoe oud nieuw kan worden.

Large Format Camera – Walker Titan

Since a few days I am the proud owner of a Walker Titan SF 4×5 (large format fieldcamera). I bought it to be able taking pictures in Mexico next month. My second hand Sinar P is just too big to take with me. All the accessoires of my Sinar fit perfectly on the Walker camera. I am still making some tests to get to know the camera. 

During my search I bumped into some shops offering large format camera’s. Something that is very hard to find in Belgium. If you are looking for one, I suggest to take a look at Teamwork (UK), Walker Camera’s (UK) or the second hand shop ABRO (Netherlands). All the people were very helpful. Eventually I bought the second hand Walker camera at ABRO because I couldn’t wait 8 weeks for the delivery time. And also because they use ABS and stainless steel, which is more durable than wood. ABRO has dozens of large format camera’s (Linhof, Cambo, Sinar, Horseman, Shen Hao,…) and all the necessary accessoires. Don’t hesitate to contact them if you are looking for something specific. They have plenty of small and big pieces in stock.

If you are new in the world of large format camera’s and you want to find out more about it, you can check out largeformatphotography for tips and trics: from loading sheet film to focussing.

I will post more information about large format when I pick up something new.

2 responses

  1. aha, da’s toevallig – ik speel ook net met de idee om een 4×5 te kopen…
    kun je me een mailtje sturen met wat meer uitleg? (zoals bvb vooral prijs en gewicht én prijs van negatieven?) zou tof zijn…

    groetjes!

    August 5, 2008 at 10:06 am

  2. Op de academie heb ik eenmaal met dit type camera gewerkt, jammer genoeg veel te weinig. Ik ben benieuwd naar je foto’s!

    August 5, 2008 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

