Gisteren fotograferen. Morgen exposeren. Hoe oud nieuw kan worden.

Hi AIESEC

Finally, my first blog. The ideas in my head can be written down and shared with the world! Internet is just great!

On the transition party in Brussels last Friday I heard that AIESEC Belgium has plenty of trainees (more than 120 last year). And very soon at least 20 more are coming to Inbev. It’s great! It means plenty of people who are going to build up a part of their life in Belgium. After meeting dozens of foreigners I found out that they have a hard time to get in touch with the culture and current affairs, even though there are some interesting websites (check out the links.) This can be improved. In my current job as a journalist it is sometimes hard to add value to AIESEC because I am out of the marketing and sales of the organisation. I do hope this blog can bring foreigners (so not only AIESEC trainees and members) closer to Belgium and eachother.

I will pick out items from the news to explain to you, but you can also post questions. If you have no clue why we are speaking two languages in Brussels (officially we have three: Dutch, French and German), or you are wondering why we have 3 different bus companies driving around in this little country, then just post your question and I will answer.

Just a little bit about me. My boyfriend Florian and I love other cultures. The last two years we had more than 10 different nationalities staying in our place. For the moment Gabriela, a trainee from Brazil, is living at my place in the centre of Antwerp. Florian started working in the Netherlands with the purpose to continue this job in Kazakhstan in two years. So, I am trying to find a way to prepare myself: listening to Russian podcasts (you can learn any kind of language there, for free!), broaden my network, gain more experience in photography so maybe I can start as a full-time photographer, gain more writing skills, and so on.

I am going to check out the internet now so I can tell you some news about Belgium tonight.

6 responses

  1. Good Luck with your Blog Evy!

    August 2, 2007 at 11:35 am

  2. Stephanie Raymond

    Hi Evy,

    Thanks so much for this helpful and interesting Blog! I will be reading it to find out more about Belgium 🙂 And I will also promote it to the interns as well!!

    Talk to you soon,

    Stephanie

    August 6, 2007 at 11:01 am

  3. Hi,
    It is a great idea of the blog! I am going to take an Aiesec internship in Belgium soon and I’ve been trying to find some resource like this for a long time… By the way, if we’ll meet in Belgium you’ll have a chance to practice your russian language with me 🙂

    Best wishes,
    Viktor

    August 6, 2007 at 12:01 pm

  4. evyraes

    Hi Stephanie and Viktor!

    Great to hear that you like the blog. More information will come soon. Just post a message with any questions you have about Belgium. I am sure that the answers will help others too.
    Where are both of you having your internship?

    Greetz,

    Evy

    August 6, 2007 at 1:00 pm

  5. Karl

    Hey!
    I was trying to find some News sources about Belgium prior to arriving. But most of them ended up beign in Dutch and French. So this is perfect!

    I’m arriving in September to Antwerp to work for Statoil. Hopefully we’ll meet there and then!!

    Keep the good work!

    August 7, 2007 at 1:45 am

  6. evyraes

    Hi Karl!

    I guess you are the Canadian guy who is linked to Kazakhstan. For sure we will see eachother. I am surrounded by the trainees of Statoil in the train every morning. And I can assure you we will have plenty stuff to talk about!

    Nice to meet you!

    Evy

    August 7, 2007 at 8:27 am

Leave a Reply

