Gisteren fotograferen. Morgen exposeren. Hoe oud nieuw kan worden.

On the road: Mexico City – Guadalajara

The last two days we spend on travelling to Guadalajara, the first important stop to find answers on some questions! There should be toreadores and it’s close the national drink: Tequila!

Pablo drives smooth, even in the mountains. So I am very happy I spend money and time on replacing the tires, steering box, clutch, etc The whole trip is about 500-600km, which is too much to drive in one time. Especially when you avoid the highways!

We made a first stop in Ciudad Hidalgo, but left soon to Morelia. Nice historical city centre, but not so much what I am looking for. We decided to take a break in a hotel, Portico. But the room, service and breakfast was not that satisfying. You expect a bit more when you pay 775 pesos – 50 EUR. And I took the room for internet, which wasn’t working… I took of pretty pissed…

The next stop was nearby, Patzcuaro. I spend a few days overthere 2 years ago for Dia de Muertos (Day of the Death, november) in a nice hotel: Best Western – Posada de Don Vasco. Kilometers before we so announcments on the road. So it was easy to find the way. It’s an old Hacienda they turned into a nice peaceful place, inclusive swimming pool. The weather was too bad, loads of rain. Yes, it’s still rain season here! People first seemed to be nice, and they have wireless internet. But it stops there.

We had lunch, dinner and breakfast and I can’t recommand them. I dunno what’s going wrong with restaurants here in Mexico, but they can’t please meandupset my stomach! Yesterday’s dinner I took spaghetti to have a light meal. But the spaghetti was hard. For the first time in my life I send my plate back to the kitchen. After a few minutes I got it back, after they put it in the steamer. I can’t believe such an exclusive hotel has such little standards…

We also just figured out that the breakfast wasn’t included in the room, what should be for 4 stars. They charged us 155 pesos (9 EUR) per person. I don’t like to bargain, but before checking out, I will! Mexican service is pissing me off that it makes it easier to negotiate!

It’s weekend, so I won’t find easily kids to make drawings or interview. I really look forward to kick of more shooting in Guadalajara! And I look forward to stay at a friends place. ‘Cause for the moment I had enough of Mexican bad service!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers